• N Biren Singh Takes Oath As Manipur CM For A 2nd Term

    BJP’s N Biren Singh took oath has CM Manipur, beginning his second term in office

    N Biren Singh took oath as the Chief Minister of Manipur for the second consecutive term in Imphal on Monday.  

    BJP President JP Nadda attended the swearing-in ceremony. Biren Singh took to Twitter and wrote, “A very warm welcome to Imphal, Shri @JPNadda Ji, Hon’ble National President, BJP. The entire state unit of @BJP4Manipur is thankful to you for being here in Imphal to take part in the oath-taking ceremony of the new Government.”

    On the other hand, MLAs Nemcha Kipgen, Y Khemchand Singh, Th Biswajit Singh, Awangbou Newmai and Govindas Konthoujam took oath as Cabinet ministers.

    N Biren Singh was unanimously elected to the Chief Minister post for the second time in the Manipur BJP legislature party meeting in Imphal on March 20. 

    The party secured 32 seats in the 60-member House in the recently concluded assembly elections in the State. The BJP has won an absolute majority this year and did not need the support of past partners - National People’s Party and Naga People’s Front.

    A former footballer and journalist, N Biren Singh had registered a thumping victory from the Heingang assembly seat.

    On March 20, Union Minister of Finance Nirmala Sitharaman, who is the party’s central observer for the State, had announced N Biren Singh as the new Chief Minister.  

    After quitting Congress in 2016, N Biren Singh joined the BJP in 2016 and contested Assembly elections from the Heingang seat. On March 15, 2017, he became the first-ever BJP leader to become CM in Manipur.

    N Biren Singh said that eradication of corruption, ending the drug menace and addressing the issue of insurgency are going to the main agendas of his government.
    For more such stories, follow us on Facebook , Twitter . Activate Website Notifications to stay updated.

    Leave A Comment